The Faculty of Mathematics and Physics

At present, about 1700 students are enrolled at the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, the most popular degrees being the Diplom and the state exam required to become a teacher in higher education. Moreover, the faculty contributes to the curricula of many other faculties, most notably Computer Science, Microsystems Engineering, Medicine, Biology, Chemistry, Pharmacology, and Geoscience.
The main areas of research at the Institute of Mathematics are: algebra, number theory, geometry, analysis, model theory, algorithmic logic, theory and numerics of partial differential equations, and, finally, stochastics and financial mathematics. The section for didactics of mathematics is a special teaching unit providing practical skills for teachers. The Institute of Mathematics hosts the DFG (German Research Foundation) research unit 'Nonlinear Partial Differential Equations' as well as the DFG research training group 'Mathematical Logic and Applications'.
The Institute of Physics comprises three interconnected branches of research: particles and fields with research groups in experimental particle physics, field theory, quantization, gravity, and particle phenomenology, atomic-, molecular-, and optical physics with research groups in experimental atomic-, molecular and cluster physics as well as theoretical quantum dynamics, and complex systems with research groups in theoretical and experimental polymer- and solid-state physics, stochastic dynamical systems, and theoretical biosystems analysis. The Institute of Physics hosts the DFG research training group 'Physics at Hadron Colliders', and physicists of the institute contribute to international research centres such as CERN, Fermilab, and DESY.
The faculty has close connections to the Kiepenheuer Institute for Solar Physics and to various institutes of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft such as the Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, the Institute for Applied Solid-State Physics IAF, the Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM and the Institute for Mechanics of Materials IWM. Moreover, the faculty contributes to the university's interdisciplinary research centres for materials research, for data analysis and modeling, and for biosystems analysis.
Last update: 2015-08-10 12:20:11.

Die Fakultät für Mathematik und Physik stellt sich vor

Derzeit sind in Mathematik und Physik insgesamt ca. 1700 Studierende in Bachelor-, Master- und Lehramtsstudiengängen eingeschrieben. Darüber hinaus wirkt die Fakultät an der Ausbildung von Studierenden vieler anderer Fächer mit, u.a. von Informatikern, Mikrosystemtechnikern, Medizinern, Pharmazeuten, Biologen, Chemikern und Geowissenschaftlern.

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Abteilungen des Mathematischen Instituts sind: Algebra, Zahlentheorie, Geometrie und Analysis in der Reinen Mathematik; Modelltheorie und Mengenlehre in der Mathematischen Logik; Theorie und Numerik partieller Differentialgleichungen in der Angewandten Mathematik; Statistik, Finanzmathematik und Biomathematik in der Mathematischen Stochastik. Die Abteilung für Didaktik der Mathematik vermittelt den Lehramtsstudierenden praxisbezogen Grundlagen der Methodik und Elemente der Unterrichtsplanung. Am Mathematischen Institut angesiedelt ist das DFG-Graduiertenkolleg "Cohomological Methods in Geometry".

Die Forschungsschwerpunkte des Physikalischen Instituts gliedern sich in die Bereiche "Atom-, Molekül- und Optische Physik", "Kondensierte Materie und Angewandte Physik", sowie "Elementarteilchen, Felder und Kosmos". Das Physikalische Institut beherbergt das DFG-Graduiertenkolleg "Physik an Hadronen-Beschleunigern" und ist beteiligt am Graduiertenkolleg "Soft Mater Science". Die Teilchenphysik ist eingebunden in die Experimente an den internationalen Forschungszentren CERN in Genf, Fermilab in Chicago und DESY in Hamburg.

Die Fakultät unterhält ferner enge Forschungskontakte zu den Freiburger Fraunhofer-Instituten für Solare Energiesysteme, für Angewandte Festkörperphysik, für Werkstoffmechanik sowie für Physikalische Messtechnik, dem Freiburger Materialforschungszentrum (FMF), dem Zentrum für Datenanalyse und Modellbildung (FDM), dem Zentrum für Biosystemanalyse (ZBSA) und dem Kiepenheuer-Institut für Sonnenphysik (KIS).

Letzte Änderung: 2015-08-10 12:20:11.